Becoming a Barber: What You’ll Learn at Barber School

When attending barbering school, students will learn how to cut, style and color men’s hair and facial hair. Programs for cosmetology focus on teaching a wider range of services such as hair, makeup, nails, and skincare that cater to men and women whereas barber school caters to hairstylists who want to specialize in men’s hair.

Offering a basic overview, barber school programs begin with things like safety, theory, and sanitation, and then move on to advanced techniques for cutting, shaving, and coloring. Most barber school programs last between 9 to 12 months. In addition to barber school attendance, students must take on a mandatory apprenticeship for a certain number of hours.

Students are not allowed to earn money cutting hair or to charge for any other barbering services while attending barber school. This is because students are not yet licensed.

How to Become a Barber in Texas

In order to be a barber in Texas, one must undergo a 1,500-hour program or barber school and graduate. One must also take the Texas Practical and Theory Licensing Exams and achieve a passing score.

A Barber License must be obtained from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations and the Texas license must be renewed every other year. No barber is allowed to operate with an expired license.

The Texas State Board of Barber Examiners requires several courses for barber training programs. These include:

  • Basic chemistry
  • Texas barber laws and rules
  • Hair weaving
  • Science of barbering
  • Histology of the hair, skin, muscles, and nerves
  • Skin and hair issues
  • Hygienic bacteriology
  • Facial treatments
  • Head, neck, and facial structures
  • Wig services

The requirements for becoming a barber are unique depending on the state in which one wishes to obtain a license. One requirement in the state of Texas is that barbers must complete a specified number of program hours based upon the types of barber licences they wish to receive.

Types Of Barber Licenses

  • Barber Instructor
  • Class A Barber
  • Barber Technician Specialty License
  • Barber Hair Weaving Specialty Certificate
  • Barber Manicure Specialty License
  • Barber Technician/Hair Weaver Certificate
  • Barber Technician/Manicurist Certificate

One must be a minimum age of 16 to qualify. Specialty barbers and barber instructors are required to be at least 18 years of age. There is a practical and written exam required of applicants wishing to become licensed in Texas. Attendance at a barber school and apprenticeship under an experienced barber provides the necessary comprehensive education to pass the exam and acquire a state license.

Students have 100 minutes to complete the first part of the test, which is the written exam. There are a number of cities in Texas where one can take the test on a computer. The written part of the exam is meant to test the student’s knowledge and mastery of everything from best sanitation practices to chemical waving.

The practical portion of the exam lasts 180 minutes and requires aspiring barbers to have their own supply kits, mannequins, and models. Their ability to perform will be assessed by a group of experts and involves performing seven different barber services: hair shaping, shampooing, shaving, permanent waving, as well as facial and chemical services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>